Photography Blog from ON.ca.

As My Daughter Sleeps

Something different for this blog, I don’t do family shots for posting, but I had one that fitted the style and tone I have developed over the last 169 posts( can not believe that number). My daughter had fallen asleep and my wife said to get the camera. I used the cyber shot cell-phone.  The muted yellow glow from the night lamp and the soft quality of the photograph just seemed to work. I used PaintShop Pro X , virtual photographer plug-in, a texture of my own devising , and a texture from Shadow House Creations to get the final result posted here.

As you can probably tell from photograph, our daughter is a Down’s Person. She is a teenager, but it is not easy to tell her age.  We have faced many challenges as a family. It never gets easier, just different . We try to dwell on the happier moments, recharging our batteries in preparation for those more difficult moments that come on any given day. Natasha loves her big brother, who is presently attending college studying computer game design &  production and is preparing to do post-graduate studies in animation.  She has her cat; together they are partners in crime. There are her all friends, both students and staff, at Rockhaven School,  the best place ever.  This week she won top female swimmer at the annual competition . Today they had a outdoor camp excursion.

As my daughter sleeps

I capture a moment

Dreaming on her pillow.

The haiku is missing a syllable in the second line.  A missing syllable, an extra chromosome, what does it matter; all there really is are those moments.

2 responses

  1. pcadams

    She’s beautiful.

    Peace, Phil

    June 3, 2011 at 11:38 pm

  2. 5kidswdisabilities

    Oh, aren’t they so peaceful and beautiful when they are asleep? I take my children’s picture as they sleep every Christmas eve. Looking at them, it seems all is right with the world…

    June 7, 2011 at 7:36 am

Leave a Reply

