Photography Blog from ON.ca.

Antique Impressions of the Manufactured3

We do not have urban decay in Elliot Lake On. . We may have been designated as a city way back when (1955) so that the mines could be taxed as part of the city area ( which included a lot of lakes, trees& rocks), but there is not much in the way of big city landscape and less decay. So if you are looking for aged industrial/urban  structure to photograph the subject matter is a bit limited.

For a quite while I have wanted to take some photographs of wavy.  I had taken some before, but the limited quality of my camera and the even more limited maturity of my photography skills at the time, left me with weak results. Every so often I would by wavy and look at the lovely rusting metal and say/think “must photograph wavy” . Well here I finally made the time to take a second Photo-shoot of wavy.

All that I have left to say is, ” it sure is wavy in Elliot Lake, On.”.

17 responses

  1. These are so nice. Gives me a nostalgic feel. I really like the third one…these colors. I would really like them framed or matted and in a row, great series.

    August 20, 2011 at 2:03 am

    • elmediat

      Thanks. I’m trying to get some satin finish or other none gloss photo paper so I can print some of these up.

      August 23, 2011 at 12:52 am

  2. These are great elmediat! I love the colours and the effects you have created. I couldn’t pick a favourite as I like them all. Although I take photos mainly of flowers and rural landscapes, I do like industrial and urban scenes a lot.

    August 20, 2011 at 7:42 am

  3. Just great. In my humble opinion, you’ve done Wavy justice!

    August 20, 2011 at 12:32 pm

  4. these are absolutely gorgeous…the textures and colors. thank you for sharing them. i love the subtle clues and visual history that urban landscapes reveal.

    August 20, 2011 at 1:35 pm

  5. Well worth the time of the second shoot, sir!
    I REALLY like these… all the history in that oxidized metal and faded paint! Spectacular! And your processing really highlights all the textures and adds to the feeling of ‘past’ and decline… great, rich tones too… so very well done!
    🙂

    August 20, 2011 at 7:22 pm

  6. elmediat

    Thanks to all for comments and support. We had another busy day – trip to Sudbury to get my son on his way back to Southern Ontario by bus and to take care of some shopping requirements.. He got back to his apartment before we got back home.

    August 20, 2011 at 9:51 pm

  7. You have added new dimension to Wavy’s post in life = fabulous. the final photo with the puzzle piece effect moves me the most.

    August 21, 2011 at 10:43 am

  8. Elmediat you have captured the feeling of urban decay and the aging manfacture industrial complex quite well. I grew up in Philadelphia and I am used to seeing urban decay on a large scale. I now live in a rural, mountain area, but miss the culture and landscape of the big city. There is so much character to be found in ruins of a city.

    August 21, 2011 at 10:09 pm

    • elmediat

      Wavy is still working. I keep wondering when it will be replaced or fixed up for maintenance. That is part of why I wanted to photograph it. Natural elements go through a predictable cycle, man made objects last/deteriorate according both to the physical realities of the object & its environment, but also human needs.

      August 23, 2011 at 12:59 am

  9. I love colours and texture in the last two images!

    August 22, 2011 at 4:13 am

  10. Love them all, but #3 the most 😉

    August 22, 2011 at 8:30 am

    • elmediat

      I can not make up my mind. I keep “wavering” in my choice.

      August 23, 2011 at 1:01 am

  11. Wow, these are absolutely spectacular. I have such a thing for old abandoned type places and I love the processes you used here to highlight your shots, they worked beautifully. Great stuff!

    August 23, 2011 at 2:52 am

  12. These are great, and what a quirkily wonderful name Wavy is! I presume it’s a town name in Ontario? If I had to vote I’d go with #3 as my favorite, I like having the bit of ground and building to give the tower some context.

    August 25, 2011 at 9:57 pm

    • elmediat

      Thanks. Actually it is in the town of Elliot Lake, On. . I am puzzled by the name Wavy because it does not go with a company name. Beamish Construction uses the site for loading their trucks. I assumed Wavy is a company name of the construction material, but that is a guess on my part.

      August 25, 2011 at 10:25 pm

  13. Pingback: Antique Impressions of the Manufactured4 « Dark Pines Photo

Leave a Reply

