Photography Blog from ON.ca.

Ontario Postcards: Rock-cuts

Here are a couple of shots taken during our recent trip down to London, Ontario. I decided to see if I could emulate the style of old postcards. The first one has the colour saturation that I associate with the postcards I remember from the 1960’s. They were often of highway scenes and “lookout vistas” . Somehow they manged to be both mundane & exotic at the same time. For myself, they bring back memories of sitting in back of the family car and going on what my folks called ” summer outing/jaunts” into the country-side.

The second image is an attempt to create a vintage style tinted postcard.  I don’t know if it quite works.  I played with an extra blurred layer and it reminds me a bit of an old stereo-scope without the appropriate double image . Don’t stare too long, it will get trippy  & you’ll get a headache.

As to the rock-cuts, this is what to expect once you travel up to Muskoka country and go north. This is land of Canadian Shieldlakes, rivers, trees, bogs, and rock, …. lots of rock; Precambrian rock to be exact.  It provides us with our mineral wealth, wonderful natural beauty, and demanding challenges when it comes to land transportation and construction. You want a rail line, a highway, a basement or a sewer/water pipes ?  Then get ready to blast and drill.  There is a reason the miners of Sudbury On.  are hard rock tough.

If you are wondering where all the nice useful soil went, it is in southern Ontario and the rich farm lands on the American side of the border. The Glaciers scraped it off and deposited down there.

11 responses

  1. You almost created a vintage style tinted postcard, I loved it. I haven’t tried to do something like that yet. Your photographs are so inspirational for me too. Well done, dear Elmediat, Thank you, with my love, nia

    September 11, 2011 at 2:38 pm

  2. I think both images are incredibly successful just as you’ve described them!
    I really like the perspective and composition of the first image.
    AND, since the second lacks easily recognizable ‘modern’ elements it truly has an almost timeless feel… especially with your post-processing (very reminiscent of a vintage hand colored photograph)… very nicely done, sir!

    September 11, 2011 at 11:10 pm

    • elmediat

      Thanks very much. It was hard to evaluate the images, especially the second one. They were taken while the car was heading on down the road. It put the camera setting on sport action to compensate for the motion of the vehicle. Sometimes it works amazingly well, other times, not so much.

      September 12, 2011 at 3:44 pm

  3. I love the first image – it stirs memories of something but I can’t pin down what – yet! I love the composition too and the way you’ve captured the excitement of getting on the road and away ……..

    September 12, 2011 at 5:26 am

    • elmediat

      Thanks. I think the colours are triggering those memories/emotional reactions. Our memories are tied to the senses. We construct narratives of the past out of layers of sensory stimulation. As for excitement, we were pulling a loaded U-haul trailer and anticipating the traffic of Toronto.

      September 12, 2011 at 3:48 pm

  4. Wow, you really nailed the postcard look with that first image. As a matter of fact, when I first saw it I said to myself “that looks like a scan of a postcard”. Not sure what quality it is that makes it so, but obviously you do! lol Nicely done.

    September 12, 2011 at 10:19 pm

  5. Both are really great revisitations to the era of travel postcards (now people tweet their friends while on vacation…such a loss). When I first glimpsed at the first one, I immediately thought of Highway 401 between Montreal and Toronto — there’s a section cut out of rock just like that. You’ve also nailed the colour in that one, it’s just like the high colour temperature look of those old postcards!

    September 13, 2011 at 3:02 am

  6. elmediat

    Thanks. For many Canadians in our part of the country those rock cuts are part of our travel experience, that or dealing with traffic delays when they blasting the rock away.

    September 13, 2011 at 4:23 pm

  7. The 1st photo did remind me of an vintage post card! Good idea.

    September 13, 2011 at 10:10 pm

  8. I must agree with the sentiments about the first image. It is well done and you have achieved your goal of creating a vintage look. The second image provides a very rock look indeed 🙂

    September 15, 2011 at 2:49 am

  9. The first image really reminds me of a nostalgic postcard–likes ones we collected from family car trips when I was a kid. You got it just right.

    September 20, 2011 at 5:35 pm

Leave a Reply

