Photography Blog from ON.ca.

Garden: Colour Variations

Beginnings CLfM

 

Garden colour grows

Variations – weeks ago,

the children’s laughter.

The blooms are all gone now, …….One

remains to pick up dry leaves.

Pink in Abstract

 

Growth and Decay – two

Dancers in a tango rhythm,

Twisting turns, steps,……..One.

Leaf

Note: The first stanza is a Tanka and the second is a Haiku. For inspiration I had two sources that have links in the poem. The first was a line of a response Lemony Shots had made to a comment by George, She owns parrots. The Haiku was a verse comment I made on a post by Syncopated Eyeball.

For a variation on this theme see George’s post, Box of Tulips.

13 responses

  1. I love the poems and the second image. Lovely.

    August 4, 2013 at 6:06 pm

    • elmediat

      ๐Ÿ˜‰

      August 5, 2013 at 10:36 am

  2. This is a lovely post, Joseph. It’s a treat to be part of your inspiration and I’m honoured. The second image is gorgeous; like a painting or a piece of 1950’s dress fabric.

    August 4, 2013 at 9:02 pm

    • elmediat

      Glad you enjoyed. I tried something different with blending a complex texture into the image. Parts of the texture were very pronounced. It created a mixed texture effect when finished.

      August 5, 2013 at 10:39 am

  3. Thanks, Joseph. The second image is wonderful. Really is. ๐Ÿ™‚

    August 4, 2013 at 10:09 pm

    • elmediat

      Most welcome George. Glad you approve. I tried to create a progression of images; faint colour building, intense colour, faded colour.
      BTW Do you now have 2 parrots ?

      August 5, 2013 at 10:43 am

      • Yes, I have a new tiny baby, Cheeky. He’s a Fancy (yellow-sided) Green Cheek Conure. He’s tiny even for his species. I think he weighs about 80 grams. I couldn’t get him to stay still enough to weigh him accurately. He is four months old and still has pink feet! He’s beautiful and silly and was not socialized so he doesn’t know what to do! His favorite thing is to pull gently on the folds of my eyelid! He’s lucky I’m old and have lots of extra skin. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I did not intend to have another parrot, but he was just so sweet and cute and looked so vulnerable in that glass display in the pet store. …ah, I knew some other parrot would get to me some day. Rita seems to be interested in him. At least, she hasn’t displayed her usual contempt for all things not her. ๐Ÿ™‚

        August 5, 2013 at 11:00 am

  4. To be honest I don’t know my Tanka from my Haiku, but I do know that I like what I hear (and see)!
    ๐Ÿ™‚

    August 5, 2013 at 11:39 am

    • elmediat

      Thanks very much. ๐Ÿ™‚ A word of caution, be careful when in public with your Tanka & Haiku. Some mistakes are verse than others. ๐Ÿ˜€

      August 6, 2013 at 9:55 am

  5. The one with the pink flower looks like a watercolor. Achingly beautiful.

    August 5, 2013 at 12:57 pm

    • elmediat

      Thanks very much John. It is one of those pieces that came out even better than I expected.

      August 6, 2013 at 9:57 am

  6. What an inspiring approach you took to this post. Thank you so much for including me! I am fascinated by this blending of material.

    August 5, 2013 at 3:18 pm

    • elmediat

      So glad you enjoyed. I was considering how random pieces of text in the comments created a found poem/dialogue. By including the links it recognizes the sources and creates a hyper-text piece that extends the work into shared creative work that is both visual & text based. I guess it could be called found collaboration – only possible with the internet.

      August 6, 2013 at 10:02 am

Leave a Reply

