Photography Blog from ON.ca.

Passion Flower: Abstract Variations

Passion Flower Abstract Macro

 

Passion Flower Textured Macro

Passion Flower Abstract Macro 4

 

Passion Flower Kaleidoscope Abstract

 

Passion Flower Abstract Macro 3

Passion Flower Abstract Macro 2

 

There is something about the Passion Flower that seems to me to be very alien, an organic abstract. It is easy to imagine it going through a metamorphosis,Β  as it moves from one level of reality/environment to another.

12 responses

  1. leecleland

    These are stunning, I bet you had fun trying all the effects and textures. Love them all, but what did you do to the fourth image it’s very different.

    September 16, 2013 at 6:49 pm

    • elmediat

      Thanks very much. πŸ™‚
      I included a layer where I turned the image into a kaleidoscope pattern ( reflection effect). Blending it with the other layers keeps some of the flower’s colour & texture.

      September 16, 2013 at 7:04 pm

      • leecleland

        Thanks so much for the info. I had a wonderful couple of hours last night playing with layers and reflection and Radfield Bias Relief. And found (as you have said before) that the order the layers are in can change everything! So much fun – it’s a wonder it’s not illegal πŸ™‚

        September 19, 2013 at 8:49 pm

      • elmediat

        Looking forward to seeing what you come up with. I keep stumbling on different variations, depending on what type of textures and effects I use on the different layers. πŸ™‚

        September 19, 2013 at 9:31 pm

  2. I like these very much. Do you grow passion flower plants? I have no idea where they grow. I did a concrete rabbit like the fourth one once and I liked it too. I like that effect, but I never use it anymore for some reason. I suppose I don’t think anybody would take me seriously! Hahaha! πŸ™‚

    September 16, 2013 at 7:33 pm

    • elmediat

      Thanks very much. My wife has been getting the vines each year for the front yard trellis. I can not get over how they actually produce fruit, considering what will not grow in our region. We have already had frost/frost warning this September and a large part of August was cool and wet.
      I am not happy with the cooler weather, even though I enjoy the fall colours. Feels like we were short changed on summer and I am not yet ready to even consider the thought of winter. Just got my BBQ repaired and hope to squeeze a few more meals out it this season. πŸ˜€

      September 16, 2013 at 7:50 pm

  3. “Alien” was my first thought as I was scrolling on the pictures then I hit #4 and had a “Spirograph” flashback.

    September 17, 2013 at 9:59 am

    • elmediat

      Ah yes, “Spirograph” flashbacks, here we “Vertigo” again. πŸ˜€

      September 17, 2013 at 12:21 pm

  4. These do make me think, ‘Star Trek-ish / stunning alien landscape’…
    NICE!!!
    πŸ™‚

    September 19, 2013 at 10:22 am

    • elmediat

      Thanks. Looking forward to hearing about your wedding photography adventure. best of luck ! πŸ™‚

      September 19, 2013 at 11:28 am

  5. Great set of interpretations, Joseph. πŸ™‚

    September 22, 2013 at 4:18 pm

    • elmediat

      Thanks Ashley. πŸ™‚

      September 22, 2013 at 4:40 pm

Leave a Reply

