Photography Blog from ON.ca.

Winter Snow: Textured Glow

Winter Posting

 

That time of year, when we reconstruct cold reality and create a warm golden glow of nostalgic memory  to soften the harder edges of winter.

 

 

Winter Topping

Textures  and layers were used to modify some recent images of snow, that was itself modified by freezing rain & melt-freeze. A messy reality was turned into a piece of art suited to the season.

 

Winter Golden Feathers

Enjoy the natural beauty & the constructed visions that you will find here, but just remember to take your  time traveling. When out and about, try to be prepared for weather & an environment that is not at all sentimental or nostalgic.

 

Snow Cone Dimple CVTx

 

4 responses

  1. These really are downright lovely! I like all of them. I dunno’ how you manage so many layers without accumulation so much noise that you lose the original! You’re good, Joseph! I reckon you’re just skilled at it, huh? Chuckle. What a talented, creative soul. You astound me. Stay warm. Don’t “break a leg” wandering on and off this winter stage! 🙂

    December 7, 2013 at 11:28 am

    • elmediat

      Thanks very much George. I try to keep the layers simple. I create an outline layer that resembles a pencil sketch. Then I replace the white tones with colour and texture. Blend that layer with the base image. Sometimes I will create two tonal layers of the base image to blend colour..
      The method has been mostly trial, error & “oh surprise look at that”. 😀 While visiting another blog- http://offshoots12.com/2013/11/02/veil-of-tears/ -I recently discovered a texture sharing blog – looks interesting :
      http://publicdomaintextures.wordpress.com/
      My wife is more talented – I will be doing some posts on what she has been up too recently. My son is very talented – trying to get him to post more of his work on his blog. Like many young artists he he lacks a bit confidence & has high expectations of himself. 🙂 My expectations of myself are much lower – I have been a husband for many years. 😀

      December 7, 2013 at 12:40 pm

  2. We still haven’t had to deal with much snow here. I am happy to live vicariously through you for that.
    When it does arrive It always looks so beautiful and picture perfect for the first few photos and then you have to go shovel to get the car out. Some of the magic leaves then.

    December 7, 2013 at 11:46 am

    • elmediat

      So true. Observing Nature’s beauty is much more aesthetically & spiritually uplifting than uplifting Nature’s white dump . It is also difficult to be spiritually uplifted when you slip & land on the other side of your self esteem. 😀

      December 7, 2013 at 12:44 pm

Leave a Reply

