Photography Blog from ON.ca.

Textured Text: Flower-grams on Antique Design

Flower-gram Textured Text 5

Here are two flower-grams  created using a textured text abstract design that emulated antique maps and antique embossed papers. I have also included the B&W Photos of the flower. Gives a little bit of before & after in the process. It also lets people who prefer the straight up photo-image a chance to see it.

 

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

The flower-grams originated as an attempt to suggest/emulate a photogram/solargram. For my earliest attempt see Flower-gram 1 . Since that first post, I have combined the flower-gram effect with other textures and layering processes to create more complex images based on the original idea.

 

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

Notice that other alternative photographic processes are also suggested by various elements. Vandyke brown tones and cyanotype blues are both present to varying degrees.

Flower-gram Textured Text6GH

 

In the spirit of the season, I am sharing one of my textures with my visitors. It is called Antique Paper Mystery Map 15. It is set at a resolution of 78 and a print size of approx. 16 x 11. If you use it, make sure to post and let us get to see the result.

Antique Paper mystery Map15

 

 

 

10 responses

  1. These are extremely beautiful. Wow.

    December 8, 2013 at 6:36 pm

    • elmediat

      Thanks very much Millie. Enjoyed your video sketching of the cat. 🙂

      December 8, 2013 at 7:25 pm

  2. Your flower grams have always been one of my favourite of your presentations. These are lovely. Thank you for the generosity in making the background available.

    December 8, 2013 at 6:46 pm

    • elmediat

      Thanks. Glad you enjoyed the post. The texture can be use in a variety of ways. Hoping to to see some creative interpretations of reality. 🙂

      December 8, 2013 at 7:27 pm

  3. The flower grams I can understand. Chuckle… I like them a lot. 🙂

    December 8, 2013 at 9:04 pm

    • elmediat

      Thanks very much George. I tried the Imperial approach – flower ounces, but they came out heavily saturated. 😀

      December 9, 2013 at 1:00 am

  4. leecleland

    Again there is a wonderful use of textures and flowers, interesting to see the B&W straight flower before you started adding to it and thank you for sharing the Antique Paper Mystery Map 15 with us, I’ll see what I can come up with for next week.
    I actually thought I had been very clever with my post for tomorrows’ Textured Tuesday until I saw these, I’ll still post but much more work is needed I can see 🙂

    December 9, 2013 at 5:12 am

    • elmediat

      Once I had figured out how to create textures and more complex designs based on textures, I amassed many variations. This then enabled me to then develop my techniques for combining layers & integrating textures.
      For more types & textures check out my texture tutorial pages, my post Boxing Day Textures, and also check out :
      http://shadowhousecreations.blogspot.ca/search/label/Textures
      and
      http://publicdomaintextures.wordpress.com/ .
      If you have any questions please ask. As a retired teacher, I am addicted to babbling about stuff I know. 😀

      December 9, 2013 at 9:12 am

      • leecleland

        Thank you for your generous offer, when I can work out what it is I can’t get my head around I’ll give you a holla. It’s tricky when you know you like something but can’t quite figure out what it is you like about it and therefore why you can’t get a similar result. Thanks also for the links I do check them both fairly often and have used their textures with my images.

        December 9, 2013 at 8:15 pm

      • elmediat

        I checked the tutorials on Shadowhouse and used some samples of his textures to figure out how to create them myself. Then I started combining different effects to come up with my own styles & methods. 🙂

        December 9, 2013 at 8:43 pm

Leave a Reply

