Photography Blog from ON.ca.

Textured Text: Junk-mail Abstracts

Junk Mail Abstract 1

 

Junk Mail Abstract 1B

While catching up on blog visits I came across the posts  Junkmail Geometry (drawing) and Automatic Drawing over at Andy Parkinson’s blog, Patternsthatconnect . That got me thinking about my Textured Text pieces and I decided to experiment using one of my recent textures. I grabbed some Junk mail pamphlets  out of the recycle box and ripped/cut them into rectangle pieces. I re-assembled  a mix of pieces on the scanner bed and created several images.  Working with a couple of these I then layered them with my texture. The first results  can be seen here. 

Andy was also working with the concept of grid patterns. I incorporated that idea using a mosaic glass effect and a fine polka-dot pattern. So thanks Andy for the inspiration, your artwork and art reviews are very interesting.

I will post more of these as I experiment further and see what kind of variations I can produce.

 

 

 

Junk Mail Abstract 2

11 responses

  1. leecleland

    How simple (the idea maybe not the doing) and what fun. Will go and look at Andy’s site and have a play myself. Thanks for the link and the info.

    May 14, 2014 at 7:20 am

  2. I find these really attractive. I can see them occupying space on a wall. Perhaps in a coffee house where you could contemplate them.

    May 14, 2014 at 1:14 pm

    • elmediat

      Thanks very much. I will be posting some more. While I was testing out effects I noticed some were turning into antique/faux-Victorian colours. 🙂

      May 15, 2014 at 8:28 am

  3. Pingback: Textured Text: Antique Junk-mail Abstracts | Dark Pines Photo

  4. Pingback: Textured Text: Junk Mail Mandalas Abstract | Dark Pines Photo

  5. Suzanne

    This is an interesting idea. I will have a play myself and visit Andy’s blog.

    July 19, 2014 at 7:55 pm

    • elmediat

      Most welcome. Glad to spread ideas – after too many years teaching in secondary school, can not break the habit. 😀

      July 19, 2014 at 7:59 pm

  6. Pingback: This Way Please – Showroom Ready Icons | Implied Spaces

Leave a Reply

