Photography Blog from ON.ca.

House Cleaning

House cleaning Grid 1

House Cleaning – Organizational Grid

I am in the process of House Cleaning the  blog and have made some modifications. There is a new page added –

Photography & Media Resources

– it has all the links to texture resources and the free plugins that I have come across. It also has links to alternative photography processes and other Media Literacy resources, including those from my (old) teacher’s web-pages.

 

You will notice that the arrangement on the main blog page has been modified with different elements moved to footers or the sidebar. I do have some concerns with the set-up, so any suggestions would be appreciated.

 

One of the problems I have is I tend to think like a teacher. I want to share and organize lots of resources. As a consequence, I created an extended set of (blog roll) links covering a range of categories.   My frustration comes from not being able to split up these links into separate footers. It is either just one category or all of them.  That is why I created the extra page to reduce categories of links.  

TVSet012011

 

Now wearing my Media Literacy hat, and keeping in mind I am a polite older Canadian, I have some blogging etiquette question and a small (sorry) rant. Some of the blogs in my list are no longer being updated with new posts.  There is no indication if or when they may become active again. What is a reasonable time to keep the link ? Should the links be kept on a separate page ?  I know that some bloggers’ posting becomes more infrequent over time; I am now slowly getting my Media Literacy blog into a more active state.  So much of social media depends on immediacy, interactive response and the exchange of ideas/information, that anything that become static or sporadically active gets lost in the ocean of ever-growing data.

 hands

We all like followers and getting likes & comments. It is part of the feedback in this form Social media that re-enforces community, community and self-esteem.  However, my  Media Literacy analysis-radar has noticed the appearance of an old ghost in a new form, the dreaded Phantom Referrers ( See: Doc WordPress vs. The Phantom Referrers! ). I have noticed I have gotten a number of likes and a few followers who are not, really people/fellow bloggers.  When you check their profile or their blog what you find is a marketing page of some form. A few go as far as to actually do posts on their services or products. Others just re-direct you to commercial sites.  

phantom Referrer-two

 

It is a clever marketing ploy, in that they get free links on your blog  through the likes and the My Community list. It also extends their presence for search engines.  The likes are not checked for spam so they are safe. They are Phantoms who hide in plain sight. I do not see a method of removing them without going to WordPress support and notifying them of the situation. Technically, they are not really breaking the rules, just taking advantage of the set-up to spread themselves across the internet . I am tempted to do another Phantom Referrer Pulp/Gothic Tale incorporating some of these blogs, but that would just give them more free advertising.

"Rosie the Riveter" "We Can Do It" 179-WP-1563 WWII Poster

Note: No actual physical housework was done in the creation of this post. Perhaps tomorrow.

 


House cleaning Grid  2

House cleaning Grid – Time Schedule

8 responses

  1. I must say that with this picture even a vacuum cleaner can look cool! Almost made me get up and clean up 😉

    June 12, 2014 at 6:01 pm

    • elmediat

      Well there is always tomorrow ,……………or maybe the next day. 😀

      June 12, 2014 at 10:03 pm

  2. leecleland

    I do enjoy your Blog and that you are/were a teacher comes through clearly which is part of why I like it. The new Photo & Media page is great because I keep forgetting which post I saw what referenced. The new layout gives a cleaner look but makes for a very long post.

    Phantom bloggers ! who’d a thought! But yes I’ve had some of those and scratched my head as to what is going on, so thanks for the info. I don’t like it but smart marketing on their part.

    June 12, 2014 at 6:45 pm

    • elmediat

      I am still tweaking the layout. Really don’t like it stretched out, but all the links on the side are distracting. Everything gets lost in the endless line of text.
      The Phantom Bloggers are annoying .

      June 12, 2014 at 10:18 pm

  3. It’s good to see someone else gets the housework done along the same lines as I do. If I promise to put up a new post in the next few days will you keep me around?

    June 13, 2014 at 11:23 am

    • elmediat

      😀 For sure !
      Trying to sort things out with blogs. I had set up a third blog for an establishment, but things went south. I tried to change address with the intent of re-naming and possibly using the blog for other purposes. Now I have four blogs listed ! Two have the same name & content, but different addresses.I think all I can do is delete the one blog . Instead of reducing work I created more. Where will I find time to take more photos of the vacuum cleaner ? 🙂

      And I still haven’t decided to do with all the links – stay where they are on the footer, move to another page or try a different theme with a different layout. Never get to universal peace plan at this rate.

      June 13, 2014 at 12:13 pm

  4. It’s good to have a spruce-up on the blog from time to time; keeps things fresh. I tend to change themes for this purpose.

    I like how you have moved the blogs you follow to the footer keeping the sidebar simpler and focused on the more dynamic aspects. As to what to do about bloggers in the list who haven’t blogged for a while, I’m not sure. Perhaps a separate category or page and then add them back to the main list if they begin posting again. Scrolling down the footer doesn’t bother me as I like footers and the one on my blog is quite long! Perhaps another page would work well if you weren’t so keen.

    With regard to the phantom or spam bloggers, I agree they are annoying. At the moment there is nothing we can do about likes or follows from them but I adjusted my ‘My Community’ widget to commenters only – which is what it looks like you have done.

    Ken over at 2clicksaway recently ran a post about such bloggers here:

    http://2clicksaway.wordpress.com/2014/06/02/i-like-like-but/

    June 14, 2014 at 3:48 am

    • elmediat

      Thanks for the input. I will check out the blog. I looked at some other layouts, but the real issue is the length of the blog list. I have another work around idea that I will try – in the mean time things will stay put for now. 🙂

      June 14, 2014 at 10:46 am

Leave a Reply

