Photography Blog from ON.ca.

Concentration

concentration2

9 responses

  1. leecleland

    Intriguing processing here Joseph.

    July 12, 2014 at 5:58 pm

    • elmediat

      Thanks very much. I created several different versions of the image and blended them together. It is a mix of monochrome, mezzotint style effect and a cyanotype – aged negative effect. Rather than just one effect on top of the other , I managed to blend them so parts of the image have different characteristics of each effect. It started as an accident and then I built on it once I realized what I was creating. 😀

      July 12, 2014 at 7:32 pm

      • leecleland

        Fascinating, so you didn’t use blend modes as in Photoshop but maybe used a brush to make parts of one version more visible or not? I’m not really sure how brushes work yet but think this maybe one way to use them.

        July 12, 2014 at 11:08 pm

      • elmediat

        I work with PaintShop Pro. In this case, when I blended the monochrome images together , I found that depending on layer setting and opacity levels different parts of each layer became more dominant in different areas of the image. In order to get the top right hand corner I placed another version of the image and modified the layer properties. I selected the area that I wanted to keep and deleted the rest. Blurred the edges for more of a blend.

        July 13, 2014 at 12:06 am

  2. Suzanne

    I really like the way you have processed this image. Well done. 🙂

    July 12, 2014 at 6:38 pm

    • elmediat

      Many thanks for commenting &visiting. It is much appreciated. Just had a quick look at your just a fairy tale post. Love the donkeyskin composition. Will be leaving a comment shortly. 🙂

      You may find my fantasy pieces of interest. Check out the Phantasmagoria: Tales Tall & Short Page (link is at the top).

      July 12, 2014 at 7:41 pm

  3. This would make an interesting book cover. Why do I continually think of things to do with your stuff?

    July 20, 2014 at 12:30 pm

    • elmediat

      The image does have a stereotypical Canada Literary fiction quality – approaching Gothic, but not quite sinister/intense/surreal enough atmosphere.Ontario. How are you at being an agent ? 😀

      July 20, 2014 at 12:52 pm

      • I’ve actually acted as an agent before…just not a literary one. There was a time I had some influence at Simon & Schuster Canada but those days are long gone.

        July 20, 2014 at 12:54 pm

Leave a Reply

