Photography Blog from ON.ca.

Existential Friday: I Contact

Haunted Memory Eye 3Dkmh

As some of the regular visitors to this blog may have noticed, I have been inactive for about a week on both blogs. Last Friday, Halloween day, I had cataract surgery. This was a bit eventful for a few reasons. To begin with, the surgery was on the right eye. This is my dominant eye. I have needed glasses since grade four.

Noir Office 1

I had a congenital cataract on my left eye. Through a set of circumstances, it was not detected and removed early on as it should have been – lens surgery for the left eye was only done ten years ago. All those years with a fog in left field means that, as a consequence, my brain is hardwired to take information from my right eye – hence my affinity & interest in photography, like a camera, I am a one-eyed idiot. I live in an Escher World, a construct full of optical illusions and depth perception paradoxes. True 3D is just a slight of hand rumour spread by the old View-Master toy makers and Cineplex Theatres.

Had something gone wrong with Friday’s surgery, I would be living in a blurred world with a grey fog overlaying the whole scene – Halloween indeed. So with some trepidation I awoke Friday to face our first snow blast ;

prologue to winter –

white capped jack o’lanterns –

frozen grin’s laughter.

 

Our clocks were flashing from the brief early morning power outages;

 

mocking time flickers-

seconds slide past electrons –

minute power flows.

Haunted Memory Eye 2Dkmh

 

I have had a couple of childhood accidents where eye-sight in the right eye was temporarily stopped – baseballs & soccer balls, sticks and flying projectiles of childhood homed in on my right eye like unerring primeval winged predators. I remember those stiff Halloween masks with their elastic bands that could not accommodate eye glasses, especially ones with thick lens and heavy duty plastic frames. Halloween was a place of strange shapes and shadows. The terrors of childhood wait in the shadows of old age to reminisce.

 

trick or treat echoes

down hospital halls – sharp lines

turn corners, quick cuts –

do you mind the intern ? Just –

insert intravenous – twice .

multiple eye drops –

stinging like hobgoblins’ laugh

in a bright doorway.

Haunted Memory Eye 2Dk MT

Click image for more insight.

 

Rolling into OR in a wheelchair – the blur of doors , lights and human figures – some in masks & gowns , some in green & blue, flashing stethoscopes & blood pressure cups in darker hue – zip by. Wheels stop and the chair is parked. Next up to bat, …… charts unfurled and data crunched. Then questions – name, date, birthday, purpose of surgery -wouldn’t want to get the wrong patient on the table,……. then the extra special trick, the lens did not arrive.

You understand what happened ?”

Yes, the lens did not arrive in the shipment.”

Will you wait? Special delivery, here by noon – on broomstick.”

In for a penny, in for pound. Come too far to turn around.”

Rolling out of OR in a wheelchair – the blur of doors , lights and human figures – some in masks & gowns , some in green & blue, flashing stethoscopes & blood pressure cups in darker hue – zip by. Wheels stop and the chair is parked. Back in the hall with my wife. Time passes. Power cuts. Lights blink. The clock strikes noon. Wheels & time turn – rolling back to OR in a wheelchair – the blur of doors , lights and human figures – some in masks & gowns , some in green & blue, flashing stethoscopes & blood pressure cups in darker hue – zip by. Wheels stop and the chair is parked, then …

on table of sleep –

process begins, sleeplessness –

wait, power cuts I –

questions voices lights action

camera lens view – close up.

The final tricks were staying alert during the twilight sleep and another power cut while being fitted with the new lens. No pain or discomfort, just very clear memories of the event. Many eye drops later, here I am. No glasses, except for sunglasses. It has been many years since grade four – I keep reaching to adjust glasses that are not there. The self is composed of experiences – the I is shaped by the inner eye.

11 responses

  1. Suzanne

    wow – what a story. Your photos complement beautifully and your poems add extra depth. I wish you a speedy recovery and will be fascinated to see how the changed eye sight effects your art.

    November 7, 2014 at 11:51 pm

    • elmediat

      Many thanks. 🙂

      It might be in better focus . 😀

      November 9, 2014 at 1:41 pm

      • Suzanne

        lol – I’m way behind on catching up with blog posts and comments but I did like your recent post with the bright flower against the blue background. I can see that better focus effecting your work already.

        November 10, 2014 at 6:23 pm

  2. Sorry to hear about your accident. Hope for a speedy recovery. Great work though

    November 8, 2014 at 3:59 am

    • elmediat

      Thanks very much. More an accident of birth & old(er) age. 🙂

      November 9, 2014 at 1:41 pm

  3. This must have been an extraordinary experience, are you pleased with the world now that you are seeing it differently I wonder?

    November 8, 2014 at 5:22 am

    • elmediat

      Taking awhile for the eye to adjust. Go in for eye evaluation six weeks after surgery to determine whether I will need some sort of glasses. Right now, still on eye drops and vision varies. Have to watch for eye strain . 🙂

      November 9, 2014 at 1:44 pm

  4. Hoping that you are well and you had a pretty nurse to administer all those post surgery drops 🙂

    November 9, 2014 at 10:57 pm

    • elmediat

      My son has been administrating eye-drops today – he is pretty creative. My wife has had a bit of poor health. 🙂

      November 10, 2014 at 7:58 pm

  5. I’m very glad this turned out well for you. I think you have calmed my nerves somewhat. My husband is facing the same surgery soon. The right eye in December and the left eye in February. I admit to some anxiety as the first date approaches. For him it can’t come soon enough.

    November 12, 2014 at 1:46 pm

    • elmediat

      Hope all goes well. i will be seeing the doctor for a follow-up tomorrow. We are most fortunate in that the eye doctor comes into town to do the surgery and do follow-ups on patients. Do not have to go out of town to Sudbury.

      The vision is coming along, but I have had to reduce blogging a bit. Still lots of eye drops. Only photography so far is in the house, may try to snap shots of ice hanging from eaves or window shots. Still can not read printed text for any length of time, but for the most part vision is clearer than it has ever been without glasses.

      November 14, 2014 at 2:55 pm

Leave a Reply

