Photography Blog from ON.ca.

Conveying Information

Conveying Information1

Now I could have easily included this post on the Implied Spaces blog – it fits the criteria .  The reason I chose to place it here is because of process and content.  As you can see, the image developed out of a screen capture of this blog. It incorporates a modified  version of the background with  My Community icons and icons from recent blog posts that I have liked.

One of the things that intrigues me about the blog space is how context, information  and connectivity of links  shape the information presented. In a way it is the problem presented by the Greek Philosopher Heraclitus – of stepping into the same stream twice. Each time you see the page, it changes – because the Community icons keep changing, along with changes in the Top Posts Icons, and changes in the posts I have visited and liked.  Add to that the icons of those who have liked  a particular post or have left comments and the informational context of the blog space is always in some degree of flux.

This naturally shapes and modifies to some  degree the message conveyed by the actual post.  There would be some bloggers who would prefer to remove the noise of the extra context as much as is possible, but the blog space by its nature contains and conveys information. Like all Mass Media forms the information is a mix of intended and unintended messages. Depending on the viewer, who brings personal context with them to any form of Mass Media, there will be a host of layered interpretations of the media content.

The two photos I used in composing this image  also deal with change. The one shot was of a passing pick-up truck with a dog riding in the back. The other shot was of cracked pealing paint on an outer wall of a building.  The first shot is change in motion the other is motionless change.

So what is your personal preference ? Do you attempt to reduce the flux of information on your blog posts or do you embrace the chaos of multiple streams of information ?

 

14 responses

  1. I suppose I assimilate and process the flux of information, so the input disappears, but it returns as output. Not so sure anyway!

    September 28, 2015 at 5:10 pm

    • elmediat

      That is what makes the social media platforms so interesting. It is a fluid interaction that is constantly open to generating new forms & content.

      September 29, 2015 at 4:30 pm

  2. I try to keep it simple. Especially on strata of the self. I’m often tempted to add extra bits to Syncopated Eyeball but usually resist. Between Scarlett and Guest is strictly minimal.

    September 28, 2015 at 5:42 pm

    • elmediat

      The purpose & content of Strata and Between functions best with minimal extended context. Syncopated Eyeball reminds me of a cross between a personal journal and a sophisticated glossy photo gallery book. It has both the deeply personal & metaphorical perceptions of a journal and the aesthetic tone of a modern photo gallery. Your choice of template and reduced number of icons and links support the tone very effectively.

      When I tried out templates of that style, it didn’t seem to fit my posts. I suppose I see this blog as more of a pulp magazine with moments of philosophical and aesthetic pretensions . 😀 Plus the retired teacher keeps wanting to share information, sources and neat stuff I bump into on the internet. 🙂

      September 29, 2015 at 4:44 pm

  3. I try to accept change and flux more even in life.

    September 28, 2015 at 5:50 pm

    • elmediat

      Going with the flow is the best option – as long as we do not become to gassy . 😀

      September 29, 2015 at 4:45 pm

  4. I suppose I am more prosaic

    September 30, 2015 at 10:44 am

    • elmediat

      You are great. I am just a very media cacophonous mind. 😀

      September 30, 2015 at 11:22 am

  5. Pingback: What’s Going On Here ? | Implied Spaces

  6. I’d have to say that I embrace the chaos; it’s enjoyable and instructive to see how others interpret the same thing.

    October 2, 2015 at 9:55 pm

    • elmediat

      We all seek the butterfly that lies beneath the storm. 🙂

      October 3, 2015 at 11:25 pm

  7. As you have probably noticed, I tend toward minimalism on my own blog. However, I enjoy navigating the chaos of image, word, and information I encounter on other people’s. 🙂

    By the way, I’m having trouble leaving comments and likes on certain pages. I hope this comment comes through. The like button does not work for me on your blog for some reason. It does work when I stay in the reader, but not when I come into your blog itself.

    October 3, 2015 at 8:30 am

    • elmediat

      It all goes towards how we choose to frame our media content and also how we perceive the intent & audience of the message being sent. 🙂

      Interesting glitch with the comment posting. From time to time, what I have noticed is that sometimes comments don’t show up in the recent comment list until I respond to them. I believe that happened to your comment over on Implied Spaces.

      October 3, 2015 at 11:31 pm

Leave a Reply

