Photography Blog from ON.ca.

Existential Friday: Selfielessness Rest Stop

Rest Stop 2

 

An existential moment at rest on the edge of wilderness –

or the edge of a deconstructed man made environment ?

Signs of selfielessness are evident in the stillness.

Perhaps he should have written more often, but then they would have made it all his asphalt.

Rest Stop 3

Reminder of Terminology

Selfielessness – 1. The state of being without selfie.

2. Anย  image that intentionally depicts being without selfie.

3. The process of producing such an image. This is known as the photographer is “Thinking & Being outside the Frame”.

4. The contemplation of such an image

14 responses

  1. ‘An image that intentionally depicts being without selfie.’
    ๐Ÿ™‚

    April 22, 2016 at 11:16 pm

  2. comfy chair…

    April 22, 2016 at 11:17 pm

    • elmediat

      There are a couple more further down the dog walk. I assume someone left them there for owners, but the setting creates an intriguing scene. ๐Ÿ˜€

      April 23, 2016 at 12:39 am

  3. I love the terminology. Especially “Thinking and being outside the frame.”

    April 23, 2016 at 6:57 pm

    • elmediat

      I think there is a great difference between a selfie and other forms of self portraits.
      The selfie is an affirmation of self worth, but it lacks total self-reflection. Often a self portrait portrays/reveals the inner self. Excellent examples of these can be found on Ashley’s curated blog, https://strataoftheself.wordpress.com/. ( Ashley posted some of mine as well. ๐Ÿ˜€ )
      The other problem with the selfie is that not only is the photographer in the frame, they define the subject. Action and setting are defined by photographer in the shot.

      “This is ME fishing at Lake Taco.”
      “Here I AM riding the walrus at Fort Yahooz.!”

      There is a sense of a desperate, unreflective need for recognition that creates an unintentional irony of revelation of the self. This is why many have recoiled from the selfie culture.

      April 23, 2016 at 7:33 pm

      • Yeah, I am a recoiler.

        April 23, 2016 at 7:57 pm

      • Thanks for the mention, Joseph. And you know I love these images. My family has the dark green version of these chairs too. ๐Ÿ™‚

        May 24, 2016 at 10:55 pm

      • elmediat

        Most welcome. I have another set of chair images to post. I have taken a bit of a break in posting on this blog. I fear I may soon use up my allotment of free image storage for this blog. Contemplating choices.

        BTW Your recent visits has produced an up swing my blog stats. ๐Ÿ˜€

        May 24, 2016 at 11:12 pm

      • I was so far behind! It seems I’m always behind these days . . .

        May 24, 2016 at 11:48 pm

      • elmediat

        But you are ahead of me across the International Date Line experiencing A Southern Hemisphere Fall. That means,…… I am in an infinite regress of temporal proportions. Can I use that excuse when Liz asks me if I have cleaned the kitty litter and done the recycling ? ๐Ÿ˜€

        May 25, 2016 at 12:25 am

      • Hmmm. I don’t know. I guess you could try. ;(

        May 25, 2016 at 12:36 am

      • sorry – fat thumb! That was supposed to be ๐Ÿ˜‰ ๐Ÿ™‚

        May 25, 2016 at 12:37 am

      • elmediat

        I know those oops emojee-um-uhs. ๐Ÿ˜€

        May 25, 2016 at 12:49 am

      • ๐Ÿ™‚

        May 25, 2016 at 3:54 am

Leave a Reply

