Photography Blog from ON.ca.

Bear Ramble among the Bins in B &W

Barely Behind

So I went out two weekends ago to drop  recycling at the depot. As I arrived, I noticed a group of people standing across the road and looking over in the direction of the parking area of the depot. Looking to the left, I saw a rather large bear on its hind legs looking into a bin – a bear bin buffet. After nodding in agreement with the onlookers, I turned the car around and watched. Not only did I not have my camera, I forgot the cellphone.

The bear proceeded to swoop up a blue bag of recyclables ( no doubt smelled great to a bear) with one paw and carry it over to the side, examining contents for treats.  Realizing recycling was out of the question, I proceeded back home –  get the camera and see if my daughter & wife would like to see a bear or spot me while I try to bin again.

Alas, my daughter was not up to travel, so I returned on my own.  Upon arrival, the onlookers had already dispersed, and there was one vehicle in the parking area; the occupants were just finishing up their deposit. Can you see where this is going ?

I then proceeded to unload the plastics –  after which, I went to the cardboard allocated bins ( note the above photo, carefully ) with my blue box full of offerings to the recycle gods. Having emptied box of the offerings (trees’ memories-leaves of packaged print),  I looked between the bins. About six to eight feet behind the bins is a snow fence, now partially collapsed, weary with weather and awaiting a lengthy summer holiday.  As it happens, there was also the bear in a cautious amble proceeding in my direction. Either my cardboard, or I smelled of interest – thank goodness I had no BBQ sauce upon my chin or lapel, then again a scent to a bear’s nose can be long lasting (they can zero in on a smell from miles away).

As you can imagine, I did the Olympic blue box sprint to the car.  At such a time, One’s mind  must be clear and calm. I fleetingly recalled that bears, like their dog cousins, can be attracted to fleeing creatures. My next thought was of Shakespeare and that memorable stage direction from The Winter’s Tale (Act III, Scene 3), “Exit pursued by a bear.” The study of Literature, and the The Bard in particular, can be of great comfort, helping one put one’s life into perspective. 

What now follows is a sequence of shots depicting the ramble of a bear among the bins in B &W – insights into a bear’s decision process are revealed. Pardon shots through car window – lowering glass was an option, but then again there was the matter of the BBQ sauce.

 

Recycle Bear 1

Sniffing out the the facts on paper.

 

Recycle Bear 2 Considering the Facts and possible Outcomes.

 

Out of Here

Withdrawing to achieve a better perspective – i.e. I’m outta here.

 

Consider This

Reconsidering.

Choice

 

 Finding direction.

 

Exit Bear not Chased

Bear exits – pursued by none.

 

Nature ambles in –

paws at our weak pretensions,

dignity scrambles.

 

Note: For other Bear encounters see Of Bread and Bear

9 responses

  1. Glad you were not carrying edibles.

    May 10, 2016 at 12:30 pm

    • elmediat

      And fortunately s/he didn’t think I had any. 😀

      May 10, 2016 at 1:32 pm

  2. more intersection of the wild and the not so wild

    May 10, 2016 at 6:32 pm

    • elmediat

      So true. I now have a better understanding of the mess around the bins. Besides wind blowing stuff around, bears, gulls and perhaps raccoons checking things out – some people just dropped everything and ran. 😀

      May 10, 2016 at 10:35 pm

      • Hmmm. maybe that explains some of the mess, 🙂

        May 11, 2016 at 7:57 pm

  3. Turned into a great story. I found mice in our bins once. Less scary

    May 11, 2016 at 4:56 am

    • elmediat

      Yes, we have dealt with mice in the veranda and the house ( when the winters are hard ) – the cats keep them in check. Once my wife took out materials in her art class and placed the box on the centre work table – a rat jumped out. Quite the kerfuffle – she and the students dealt better with the situation than the VP and the Maintenance Personal. 😀

      May 11, 2016 at 9:28 am

  4. How exciting!

    May 24, 2016 at 10:40 pm

    • elmediat

      That it was indeed. 😀

      May 24, 2016 at 11:26 pm

Leave a Reply

